Yes you read it right.  Researchers have been taking time looking into a type of single grain wheat to see if it is okay for someone on a gluten-free diet.

I know, it is a hard word to digest as even a possibility, but before you start worrying too much, here’s the skinny.

Researchers just published a study in BMC Gastroenterology where scientists tested out Triticum Monococcum (TM). It is an ancient grain also known as Einkorn Wheat.  Researchers want to see if people with celiac disease could tolerate it.  You might be thinking, “Wheat? Are you kidding me?”  Here’s why they are looking into it — researchers believe this kind of wheat may have the capability of NOT being harmful to people with celiac disease.

So what did they find out?  Researchers thought it was tolerated well enough to continue with further study.

This is  not the first study on the subject. Back in 2006, celiac.com reported on this very grain. Back then, the article said “Einkorn is the oldest and most primitive cultivated wheat, and recent studies have shown that it appears to lack gliadin toxicity and may be a safe wheat alternative for those with celiac disease”.

Neither I nor researchers want folks with a gluten intolerance or celiac disease to start consuming this product.  More research is necessary in this area.

It turns out it probably isn’t that easy to find on your grocery store shelves anyway.  I did find a website that sells the Einkorn berries and they request that you grind them yourself to create flour.  Einkorn is considered an ancient grain that has not been touched by the massive hybridization that regular wheat has in the last several decades.  Supporters of Triticum Monococcum aka Einkorn wheat say is high in protein and other vitamins and minerals.

It will be interesting to watch this research develop.  Another highly nutritious grain would be great for people with celiac, but certainly not worth if it is not safe to eat.  We will wait and see on this one.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Researchers Investigate Type of Wheat for Gluten-Free Diets”

  1. Great post! I am thinking since the Ancient grain, Einkorn has only a few DNA strands, and conventional wheat has double or more DNA strands due to hybridization, that our bodies can handle it better. I have not heard reports of the testing being done, but it does make sense!
    I have a gluten sensitivity and found your blog from a Twitter recommendation:)

Leave a Reply

You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Home | Advertise with us | About The Savvy Celiac | Contact Us
The Savvy Celiac is a registered trademark of Leger Interactive LLC.
Copyright © 2016 LegerInteractive LLC. All rights reserved.